|Town Council Cemetery|
The Regal Cinema in Tenbury Wells opened in 1937, providing film entertainment for the people of Tenbury. The cinema closed commercially in 1966 and stood empty until 1970 when the Town Council purchased it to safeguard it for the community. Since then it has become an important and much-loved part of the town, growing to include an enlarged stage and a community centre.
Supported by a grant of over £680,000 from the Heritage Lottery Fund the Town Council oversaw renovation works between October 2011 and Summer 2012 to restore and repair many of the traditional features that still exist in the cinema today. Exquisitely painted original murals by George Legge, the 1930s auditorium lighting scheme and parquet flooring were just some of the features that were re-instated during the restoration. The building is now open to the public on most weekdays or by appointment and a small museum on site documents the restoration of this hidden gem and tells the fascinating story of cinema in the UK.
For more information about the Regal’s history and restoration visit www.regaltenbury.org.uk. To book a tour call 01584 819998.
The Regal is still owned by the Town Council but day to day operations are now managed by the Regal Tenbury Trust, a charitable trust made up of volunteers from the town. New volunteers are always welcome. The full programme of films, music and live events can be seen at www.regaltenbury.co.uk with online booking available